top of page
AEnB2Urdf6-kuAWmrq-bXW2lvGfX-6E-htWHTO0IfPpiwG0u7IcXjKy4UOh-ntbd1vs03x6saPszRGCwLF9vawVnUz

La monoculture industrielle a fortement dégradé nos sols et nos écosystèmes. Les systèmes agricoles qui imitent la nature ont plus de diversité, construisent le sol et créent des écosystèmes plus sains pour toutes les couches de la vie. Les systèmes agroforestiers régénératifs sont des systèmes agricoles basés sur les arbres qui imitent la nature et, par conséquent, construisent le sol et les couches de vie qui les entourent.

 

Ces systèmes régénératifs évitent les problèmes et les ravageurs associés à la dégradation des sols et des écosystèmes tout en étant plus productifs. Notre équipe expérimentée peut planifier, installer et gérer efficacement divers systèmes agricoles pour de nombreux types de clients et de zones climatiques. Les jardins potagers, les pâturages dégradés, les sols rocailleux et les monocultures commerciales en difficulté qui ont besoin d'être régénérées sont nos spécialités. Nous cultivons nos propres agroforêts là où nous vivons, nous comprenons donc les défis très variés auxquels vous êtes confrontés.

Aujourd'hui, la plupart des systèmes agricoles dépendent fortement des intrants et des plastiques nocifs. Nous nous spécialisons dans l'agriculture qui repose sur les ressources dont vous disposez : semences, photosynthèse, biodiversité, succession végétale naturelle et cycle des nutriments. Nous pouvons vous aider à cultiver les bonnes cultures au bon endroit au bon moment, en adaptant les cultures à l'environnement, à la fois hautement productives et résilientes.  

 

Nous appliquerons notre combinaison unique de compétences à votre projet et à votre besoin pour former une puissante synergie. Contactez-nous pour planifier une première consultation.

​​

Qui nous sommes

Our Team

AEnB2Urdf6-kuAWmrq-bXW2lvGfX-6E-htWHTO0IfPpiwG0u7IcXjKy4UOh-ntbd1vs03x6saPszRGCwLF9vawVnUz

NATURE

Executive Officer of Life on Planet Earth

Nature is our wise elder. With 3.5 billion years of experience in the business of life on this planet, we strongly value the wisdom inherent in Nature and look to her for inspiration and guidance of all our designs.
It is through observation and understanding of life processes we find our own place in the world and confidence to know how to act in any situation. Life perpetually unfolds in a trajectory where each organism creates the next while genes and the environment play in dynamic flux. This flow accumulates energy and capacity in time so that each step of succession increases in stability and resiliency in the face of unceasing change. Regenerative agroforestry depends upon and actively participates in the natural cycles of succession and accumulation in order to create the soil nutrition needed for abundant and productive crops.

Bio2023_edited_edited_edited.png

SOPHIA BOWART, M.B.A.

Analyste de recherche/Agent des opérations

Sophia Bowart, MBA, est une spécialiste de l'analyse financière et de l'optimisation des opérations et engagée dans la régénération des terres dégradées à l'aide de l'agroforesterie de succession.  Après avoir été initiée à ce travail par Ernst Gotsch, le Dr Craig Elevitch et son mari, Neil Logan, Sophia a mis en œuvre des techniques d'agroforesterie de succession sur Mohala Lehua Farm à North Kohala, Hawaii depuis 2008. En plus de convertir d'anciens pâturages en un environnement diversifié, agroforestière à plusieurs étages, elle développe une gamme de produits à valeur ajoutée pour compenser les coûts de plantation et d'entretien. Depuis 10 ans, Sophia développe des techniques pour affiner l'analyse financière d'agro-écosystèmes complexes tout au long du cycle de vie d'un projet. Elle a récemment publié un guide d'analyse financière approfondie pour l'agroforesterie à plusieurs étages (Bowart et Logan 2020) et est actuellement analyste de recherche et administratrice de projet pour AgroforestryX (2018-2020).  

IMG_7452~photo-full-CElevitch.jpg

CRAIG ELEVITCH, Ph.D.

Chef d'équipe senior/Agent exécutif

Craig Elevitch, PhD, est un spécialiste de la modélisation des systèmes, de l'éducation et de la sensibilisation communautaire. Depuis 1991, il a travaillé dans l'agroforesterie et a consulté de nombreux propriétaires et gestionnaires fonciers, notamment en rédigeant des dizaines de plans d'agroforesterie, d'intendance forestière et de dédicace aux forêts indigènes dans toute l'Océanie et les tropiques. Les publications et les ateliers de renommée internationale de Craig ont aidé des milliers de personnes à devenir plus compétentes en agroforesterie régénérative et en reboisement. Il a publié 14 livres sur l'agroforesterie dans le Pacifique. En plus de travailler directement avec des dizaines de producteurs, consultants et éducateurs, il a animé plus de 200 ateliers d'agroforesterie dans le Pacifique, avec plus de 10 000 producteurs et professionnels des ressources. Il est également codirecteur de Ho'oulu ka 'Ulu—Revitalisation de l'arbre à pain et directeur de l'agroforesterie de la Pacific Regional Breadfruit Initiative, des projets fondés en 2010 pour restaurer les agroforêts d'arbres à pain dans les paysages insulaires du Pacifique. Il a reçu le prix Shining Stars of Oceania en 2019 et le prix Global Aloha 'Aina' Ohana en 2016. Craig est titulaire d'un doctorat en génie électrique (systèmes) de l'Université Cornell pour des recherches axées sur la modélisation de la croissance agroforestière et est le chef d'équipe principal. pour l'AgroforesterieX.

neil-crop-u4526_edited_edited.png

NEIL LOGAN

Développeur principal/Responsable des innovations

Neil Logan est un spécialiste de la recherche et du développement de systèmes de produits naturels ainsi que des contextes agro-écologiques et socioculturels qui les soutiennent. À cette fin, Neil développe des systèmes complets qui intègrent les technologies de l'information et les agro-écosystèmes. Avec une expérience en agroforesterie sur trois continents, dans des conditions arides et humides, tempérées à tropicales, Neil est également formé à l'herboristerie occidentale, au développement de produits naturels (25 ans d'expérience) et aux bases de données relationnelles et aux systèmes logiciels basés sur le Web. Neil a développé une base de données relationnelle en ligne pour la biorégion du Grand Sud-Ouest, créant un nouveau système d'organisation et de gestion des ressources naturelles et culturelles. Neil est professeur d'agroforesterie, d'horticulture, de mycoculture et de technologie de l'information par le biais d'ateliers, de conférences, de publications et de présentations. Il co-dirige FARM Center avec sa femme, Sophia Bowart. Plus récemment, Neil a co-écrit le livre à paraître Agroforestry Design for Regenerative Production (2022, sous presse). Il est également développeur principal de l'outil de conception AgroforestryX.

Acknowledgments

We want to thank all our mentors who have shared their wisdom and illuminated the path to regenerative agroforestry:​

Bill Mollison, Ernst Gotsch, Henrique Souza, José Fernando dos Santos Rebello, Felipe Pasini, Dayana Andrade, Ali Sharif, Louie Hena and Clayton Brascoupe (TNAFA), Dr. Enrique Salmon, Gary Paul Nabhan, Richard Stephen Felger, Jude Hobbs, Toby Hemenway, Tom Ward, Ben Kamm, Kat Harrison & Susan Leopold.

We are grateful for every kernel of wisdom that has been shared. Without the influence of these teachers and friends, we would not be where we are today.

bottom of page

ABOUT US

ADT_Demo3D__2.gif

Our Approach

With our combined 75+ years of experience at your service, we will help you avoid mistakes and optimize your system for social, ecological, and economic benefits. We will help you to:

  • Take the guesswork out of plant selection

  • Predict costs and revenues

  • Estimate yields

  • Analyze carbon sequestration

 

With experience in over 10 eco-zones, our team is ready to help you, from assessment and design to training for installation and management.

Industrial single-crop agriculture has greatly degraded our soils and ecosystems. Agricultural systems that mimic nature have more diversity, build soil, and create healthier ecosystems for all layers of life. Regenerative agroforestry systems are tree-based agricultural systems that mimic nature and as a result build the soil and layers of life around them.

 

These regenerative systems avoid the problems and pests associated with soil and ecosystem degradation while being more productive. Our experienced team can efficiently plan, install and manage diverse agricultural systems for many types of clients and climate zones. Backyard gardens, degraded pastureland, rocky soils, and ailing commercial single-crops system in need of regeneration are our specialties. We grow our own agroforests where we live, so we understand the widely varying challenges you are addressing.

Most agricultural systems today rely heavily upon inputs and harmful plastics. We specialize in agriculture that relies upon the resources you have on hand: seeds, photosynthesis, biodiversity, natural plant succession, and nutrient cycling. We can help you grow the right crops in the right place at the right time—matching crops to the environment— both highly productive and resilient. 

 

We will apply our unique combination of skill sets to your project and your need to form a powerful synergy. Contact us to schedule an initial consultation.

OUR TEAM

IMG_7452~photo-full-CElevitch.jpg

CRAIG ELEVITCH, PhD

Senior Team Lead/Executive Officer

Craig Elevitch, PhD, is a specialist in systems modeling, education and community outreach. Since 1991, he has worked in agroforestry and consulted for numerous landowners and managers, including authoring dozens of agroforestry, Forest Stewardship, and native forest dedication plans throughout Oceania and the tropics. Craig’s internationally recognized publications and workshops have guided thousands in becoming more proficient in regenerative agroforestry and reforestation. He has published 14 books on Agroforestry in the Pacific. In addition to working directly with dozens of growers, consultants, and educators, he has facilitated over 200 agroforestry workshops in the Pacific, with over 10,000 producers and resource professionals. He is also co-director of Ho‘oulu ka ‘Ulu—Revitalizing Breadfruit and agroforestry director of the Pacific Regional Breadfruit Initiative, projects founded in 2010 to restore breadfruit agroforests in Pacific Island landscapes. He was honored with the Shining Stars of Oceania award in 2019 and the Global Aloha 'Aina 'Ohana award in 2016. Craig holds a PhD in Electrical Engineering (Systems) from Cornell University for research focusing on agroforestry growth modeling and is the Senior Team Leader for AgroforestryX.

sophiabiopic2.jpg

SOPHIA BOWART, MBA

Research Analyst/Operations Officer

Sophia Bowart, MBA, is a specialist in financial analysis and operations optimization and committed to regenerating degraded lands using successional agroforestry.  After being introduced to this work by Ernst Gotsch, Dr. Craig Elevitch and her husband, Neil Logan, Sophia has been implementing successional agroforestry techniques on Mohala Lehua Farm in North Kohala, Hawaii since 2008. In addition to converting former pastureland into a diverse, multistory agroforest, she has been developing a range of value-added-products to offset the cost of planting and maintenance. Over the last 10 years, Sophia has been developing techniques to refine financial analysis of complex agro-ecosystems throughout the project lifecycle. She recently published an in-depth financial analysis guide for multistory agroforestry (Bowart and Logan 2020) and is currently Research Analyst and Project Administrator for AgroforestryX (2018–2020). 

neil-crop-u4526.jpeg

NEIL LOGAN

Lead Developer/Innovations Officer

Neil Logan is a specialist in systems research & development of natural products along with the agro-ecological and socio-cultural contexts that support them. To this end, Neil develops whole systems that integrate information technology and agro-ecosystems. With agroforestry experience on three continents, in both arid and wet conditions, temperate to tropical, Neil is also trained in western herbalism, natural products development (25 years experience), and in relational database and web-based software systems. Neil developed an on-line relational database for the Greater Southwest bioregion, creating a novel system for organizing and managing natural and cultural resources. Neil is a teacher of agroforestry, horticulture, mycoculture and information technology via workshops, lectures, publications and presentations. He co-directs FARM Center with his wife, Sophia Bowart. Most recently, Neil co-authored the forthcoming book Agroforestry Design for Regenerative Production (2022, in press). He is also Lead Developer for the AgroforestryX design tool.